gnupg-agent turning silly
authorJoerg Jaspert <joerg@debian.org>
Thu, 25 Aug 2016 10:05:46 +0000 (12:05 +0200)
committerJoerg Jaspert <joerg@debian.org>
Thu, 25 Aug 2016 10:06:09 +0000 (12:06 +0200)
_posts/2016-08-25-new-gnupg-agent-in-debian.md [new file with mode: 0644]

diff --git a/_posts/2016-08-25-new-gnupg-agent-in-debian.md b/_posts/2016-08-25-new-gnupg-agent-in-debian.md
new file mode 100644 (file)
index 0000000..d3b85f2
--- /dev/null
@@ -0,0 +1,31 @@
+---
+layout: post
+title: "New gnupg-agent in Debian"
+subtitle: Refusing work as ssh agent
+published: false
+categories:
+- debian
+tags:
+- gnupg
+- gnupg-agent
+- ssh
+- ssh-agent
+date: '2016-08-25 11:55:38 +0200'
+---
+In case you just upgraded to the latest {% deb_pkg gnupg-agent %} and
+used gnupg-agent as your ssh-agent you may find that ssh refuses to
+work with a simple but not helpful
+
+*sign_and_send_pubkey: signing failed: agent refused operation*
+
+This seems to come from {% deb_pkg systemd %} starting the agent, no
+longer a script at the start of the X session. And so it ends up with
+either no or an unusable tty. A simple
+
+{% highlight bash %}
+gpg-connect-agent updatestartuptty /bye
+{% endhighlight %}
+
+updates that and voila, ssh agent functionality is back in.
+
+*Note*: This assumes you have "enable-ssh-support" in your ~/.gnupg/gpg-agent.conf